How to build a Website when you are NOT a beginner!!! also if you are a beginner

Ok So you have learned html CSS and may or may not have knowledge of JavaScript and you might have made some websites too. But you are stuck

What to do with all this knowledge. So tired of watching so many YouTube videos, trying your best to get a full time job or work as a freelancer . But nothing feels like working

   My advice : Make a portfolio.
   Q:      What to add in the portfolio?    
   Ans:  Lets build a website together!!!!
   Q:      What to do next?
   Ans:  Publish it somewhere let people know 

lets start yeyyyyy:-)

First thing first

What's your interest. What do you want to make.

Are you interested in making a portfolio for a photographer or you want to build an ecommerce website( Just the landing page) or maybe a website for school. Think about it . Take your time

I, being a mother ,love kids' clothes especially the colourful ones. So I am planning to make a website of that and I am planning to make a really colourful one.

So have you decided yet? Maybe I can help a little

Are you interested in nature? or Marine life? or you are adventurous , like camping or you like food or maybe like watching movies or reading books. whatever it is make a website of it.

We are not looking for some big fancy website .Just a single beautiful page will be perfect.

SO you decided? Great

Now what? Keep reading. You will get an idea of sections to add

Are you getting confused over what colours to choose?

Have a look at the similar websites. See how professionals are making it. Look closely at what colours they are using. I for instance noticed most of kids clothing websites have used yellow which makes sense since yellow symbolizes happiness and also yellow goes perfectly with summer collection

So I picked yellow too . now which colours will go with yellow. Maybe a little browsing.

mycolor.space

This website will definitely help you if you can't decide by yourself I decided to opt for sky blue since it goes with both summer and happiness theme

So pick a colour. Think about what kind of feeling you want the viewers to get when they visit your website .I wanted a summer look

Now the Font??

I wanted to use the font which looks like child writing so I went for coming soon font. I loved it .. Each font tells its own story. Again think how you want your website to look

Here's what I did so far

first-section.png

Menu bar is apart of almost every website. No matter what you are making

I wanted a sticky menu bar. I must confess I had no idea what to add. I got help from professional websites. .

I am planning to write a blog on how to make sticky menu bar change its CSS properties once user starts scrolling . So Follow me for that.

So far the website looks something like this

section-2.png

Now the pictures. From where to get unique pictures?

I recommend unsplash.com pinterest.com

These websites have very nice collection of pictures. Just put some effort in finding the pictures that look good on your website.

I love to see kids playing in summer having fun. Who doesn't?

let me show you what I have made so far section-3.png

Looks pretty happy to me. Lets make the rest of website in next blog This is it for now.

Make sure to complete the first section of your website and I will make sure to keep you motivated in my next blog.

Till then bye bye

Regards

Elizay